Synaptic Static Spell Clarification

Synaptic Static

The wording here is a bit confusing. It’s an AoE, but it only mentions “a target.” Does it mean that you have to select a target from that AoE, and only it is affected? Or is the target anyone within the AoE? Having an AoE that only affects a single target seems a bit redundant, although I can see it being functional if you get to pick the target from those that did/did not save from the AoE. That made sense, right?

You choose a point within range and cause psychic energy to explode there. Each creature in a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on that point must make an Intelligence saving throw. A creature with an Intelligence score of 2 or lower can’t be affected by this spell. A target takes 8d6 psychic damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.

After a failed save, a target has muddled thoughts for 1 minute. During that time, it rolls a d6 and subtracts the number rolled from all its attack rolls and ability checks, as well as its Constitution saving throws to maintain concentration. The target can make an Intelligence saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success.

Recommended For You

About the Author: John Watson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *